Events Calendar

Download as iCal file
Janet Skeslien

Alliance Française de Milwaukee and Boswell Book Company present and afternoon with New York Times bestselling author Janet Skelsian Charles for a chat about her new novel, which Fiona Davis praised as "a fresh take on WWII France that will appeal to bibliophiles everywhere."

Skeslien Charles first became interested in the incredible true story of the librarians who stood up to the Nazi “Book Protector” when she worked as the program’s manager at the American Library in Paris. Based on the true World War II story, The Paris Library chronicles the heroic librarians at the American Library in Paris. This is an unforgettable story of romance, friendship, family, and the power of literature to bring us together, perfect for fans of The Lilac Girls and The Paris Wife.

Paris, 1939: Young and ambitious Odile Souchet has it all: her handsome police officer beau and a dream job at the American Library in Paris. When the Nazis march into Paris, together with her fellow librarians, Odile joins the Resistance with the best weapons she has: books. Montana, 1983: Lily is a lonely teenager looking for adventure in small-town Montana. Her interest is piqued by her solitary, elderly neighbor. As Lily uncovers more about her neighbor’s mysterious past, she finds that they share a love of language, the same longings, and the same intense jealousy, never suspecting that a dark secret from the past connects them.

Janet Skeslien Charles is author of Moonlight in Odessa, and her writing has appeared in revues such as Slice and Montana Noir.

Wednesday, May 5th at 2 p.m.